Keep on pushing

I am glad to say I completed yesterday’s goal. I did make it to the gym this morning and I followed day one of the Couch to 5k app. I like the regimented routine the app gives. Makes it easier to follow and stay on track. Since it was a short workout this morning, I was thinking about doing a yoga video tonight. I used to dance and feel the need to get my body back into dancing shape. Hopefully, yoga will help that.

I am slowly finding the importance of water. I have always known that it is important to drink but to live a healthier lifestyle, it is essential. Like I mentioned before, I am working on not drinking soda. I love diet soda and while it has no calories, I am not sure it is good for you. I ran out of soda in the house so I did not buy more. The other aspect to this is the artificial sweeteners. I am trying to stay away from those as well. It would be easy for me to drink flavored water but that sort of defeats the purpose of going without soda.

Last thing for today. One the downsides to having an office job is the constant sitting. There have been so many reports lately about the benefits of standing versus sitting. I have been interested in this for a while. Standing desks have crossed my mind but I have not pursued it. One thing I have looked at is an under-desk-bike of some sort. It may not be standing but better than sitting. Maybe that will be a goal sometime this week.

I’ll leave you with couple things to keep in mind:

According to LiveStrong, by simply standing you can burn an extra 20 to 50 calories per hour. So for 4 hours a day that is an extra 80 to 200 calories. 

It takes burning 3500 calories to lose one pound. If you cut 500 calories a day from diet (either through exercise or food), you will lose a pound a week. If you add standing into this mix, you can put that extra 100 to 200 calories towards the 500 you need to burn. Just something to think about.

Today’s tip: Stand as much as you can.

Tomorrow’s goal: Day 2 of the Couch to 5k app with an ab workout

Leave a Reply

